Petticoat Juggernaut

 

I am a slow reader. And I don’t just mean slow. I mean . . . s . . . l . . . o . . .w. Sorry for my extravagant use of ellipses here, but I had a point to make. In fact, I am slow at quite a wide variety of things. Including, not surprisingly, writing. I have no idea how many days it will take me to finish this one post, for example.

I remember the 1960s show Petticoat Junction. Well, that’s actually an exaggeration. I remember virtually nothing about the show. Consciously, that is. But I do remember a segment of the theme song at the beginning of the show: “There’s (correction: that’s) Uncle Joe, he’s a-movin’ kinda slow, at the Junction . . . Petticoooaaat Junction!” And I can still remember old Uncle Joe sitting in his rocking chair on the porch wearing his hat and jacket (correction: sweater), and I can even remember exactly what his gruff, coarse voice sounded like. And I was maybe only six or seven years old. I haven’t seen reruns since then, either. I could probably Google the show right now . . .

(Time lapse . . . )

Okay, I’ve Googled the show. I’m telling you, the internet has everything. I even made a couple of corrections above, but overall, I’d say my memory of those brief seconds of the opening was not too shabby. The show aired from 1963 – 1970, so I would have been 10 years old in its final season. Actor Edgar Buchanan played Uncle Joe.

My point is this: Uncle Joe made quite an impression on this young Joe, this littler, more innocent, more naïve version of myself.

My question is, did this family comedy series so influence young, impressionable me that I have been doomed forever after to live life in slow motion? To not start college until I was 24 years old? To not get married until I was 41? To not start a blog until I was 51?

Might I also mention that this television show may have influenced me to such a degree that without a conscious thought, in young adulthood I even became an Uncle. I literally BECAME Uncle Joe.

Had I never been exposed to this show, would my life have taken a different course? Alas, I will never know, and perhaps that’s just as well. For I am grateful for my life, despite its abysmal slowness. I know that I am extremely blessed, and I live, as they say, with an attitude of gratitude. I am even grateful to those who have pointed out to me during my life that, in order to stop and smell the roses, I must first endeavor to start walking. A heartfelt thank you to those who have prodded me when I needed prodding, and let me move at my own pace when I needed to, even if it slowed them down.

Next time: How Petticoat Junction has affected my reading and fiction writing.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Mary H. Kurtenbach on September 22, 2011 - 9:16 PM

    You seem to forget your “Tiger Joe” phase. You raced with the speed of a wild cat. Originally the game was to be named “Turtle Mare”, but once they saw you run…history was made. I am more slow (more slow?) than you are. But on my wall hangs a sign…”A person’s a person no matter how slow” with a picture of ‘Stick’ the one legged crane.

    Like

    • #2 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on September 22, 2011 - 10:25 PM

      Oh, Stick. Poor Stick. We must figure out how to publish that. His story deserves to be told.

      Like

  1. Eleven Questions — Part 1 « Joseph M Kurtenbach

Your feedback is welcome . . .

