Pet Peeve Friday: Of Cardassians and Cling-ons

 

*Another oldie from the archives here, with a very few minor edits for relevance:

Welcome to my new feature, Pet Peeve Friday.  I hope you’ll find at least one or two peeves in today’s list and in future entries in coming weeks to be entertaining, enlightening, or at least not too egregious.  I know it will be a great opportunity for me to get some things off my chest.  And you people out there with body piercings, that’s a hint.

Joe’s Pet Peeves:

  • I always mix up the Kardashians of reality TV with the Cardassians of Star Trek.
  • Trying to figure out where that weak battery “chirp” is coming from.
  • Three words: drinking straw wrappers
  • The “Enter” and “Exit” doors at Wal-Mart always seem to be on the wrong side.
  • How dog hair clings the most tenaciously to fabrics upon which it is the most visible.
  • The stupid way that the media sometimes shorten or cutesify celebritys’ names or combine celebrity couples’ names into one (read: J.Lo, J.Law, ScarJo, Brangelina).
  • Just about any rapper’s assumed name.
  • How the word “rectify” seems like it should have a different meaning.

That’s all I have for today.  I purposely didn’t cheat by looking up other lists.  I’m sure you can tell.  It was extremely important to me that this be truly genuine and real.  I’ll keep it that way in the future, too.  So now, help me out, here.  What are some of your pet peeves?  Share them in the comments, and cheat if you want.  I’ll never know.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Beverly Richardson on December 2, 2011 - 1:24 PM

    I agree with all of yours. But with me it’s cat hair instead of dog hair. I especially like the drinking straw wrappers. I am working on a list of my pet peeves to be forthcoming.
    Bev

    Like

  2. #2 by Beverly Richardson on December 2, 2011 - 3:40 PM

    Some of my pet peeves:

    1) People who interrupt.

    2) People who cough or sneeze into their hand. They spread the germs on everything they touch thereafter.

    3) Tailgaters.

    4) Those who get into my personal space.

    5) People who say, “I could care less” when they mean “I could NOT care less”.

    6) Drivers who ride their brakes for no apparent reason.

    7) When the background music is not in the background. It’s so loud you can’t hear the dialogue.

    8) Kids running wild with no supervision in the supermarket. I actually saw a 3 or 4 year old climbing into the frozen food bin while her mother talked on her cell phone.

    9) Talking to me on their phone while using the bathroom. Do they think I can’t hear what’s going on?

    10) Ending a sentence with a preposition. Example: “ Where are you at?” or “Where are you going to?”.

    11) People who preface their statements with, “To tell you the truth” or “To be honest with you” or just “Honestly ?”. No, I want you to lie to me!

    12) Popping chewing gum.

    Like

    • #3 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on December 2, 2011 - 4:23 PM

      Good ones, Bev. I can certainly relate to some of those. I won’t tell you which ones I’m guilty of, though, except to say that I have NEVER climbed into a frozen food bin! I prefer the fresh veggies when the misters are on… Thanks for contributing!

      Like

  3. #4 by Martea on December 7, 2011 - 2:44 PM

    Ok, here goes I’ll just give one at a time and how to solve the problem for those that just don’t get it.
    1. Children running wild in a restaurant annoying everyone, from customers to staff, except the inconsiderate parents or grandparents who are oblivious to their bratty kids.

    a) No one thinks your children are cute, except you.
    b) If your children are not trained to behave in public, leave them home.
    c) If you want your children to accompany you, teach them manners before you take them out.
    d) If your children cause an accident don’t sue, give the servers a huge tip for making more work for them, and pay for the customers dinner was spoiled by your bratty kids.

    Remember, your the parent so act like it, teach your children how to behave in public.

    Don’t get me wrong I love children, well behaved children.

    Like

    • #5 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on December 7, 2011 - 3:49 PM

      Excellent! Not just a pet peeve, but one with solutions! And one that I and I’m sure many, many others share. Err, umm, wait a minute… I think I just realized why you always wanted to give such big tips when we went out to eat. Color ME embarrassed.

      Like

      • #6 by Martea on December 8, 2011 - 12:17 AM

        Oops, I think I said to much, yikes!

        Like

  4. #7 by Mary ann on December 30, 2016 - 8:40 AM

    Shopping at the store or fast food, purchasing something one has bought for months and now the price is more and you get even less for your money.

    Like

    • #8 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on December 30, 2016 - 6:19 PM

      Yeah, that’s a good one, Mary Ann. Like how they make what used to be half-gallon cartons or gallon containers a few ounces smaller hoping people won’t notice, while still raising the price.

      Like

Your feedback is welcome . . .

