Shut the Front Door Thursday

Flickr photo courtesy WordRidden

*Post-it Note:  Time for another blast from the past, another old post I’m reviving.  Thanks for hanging in there with me.

#

The thing is, I need to organize more things in my life.  I’ll get into the mood every once in a while and do a little sorting through my stuff.  Maybe sell something on Ebay, or shred some old college papers or phone bills from the 1980s.  I suppose an effort to organize my blog was inevitable, eventually.  Not only is it something I can do from my recliner, but it is also a thinly-veiled form of procrastination.  On multiple levels.  I’ve rarely felt so proud.

So anyway, as I write this, it is Thursday, so I figured I’d contemplate some possibilities.  Once this popularized saying of the recent past, “Shut the front door!” popped into my head, I felt I had something to work with.  We’ll see what the future holds.  For now, I’m running with it.  I’ll admit, as I have in past posts, that I’m pretty slow at many things, including picking up on current trends, whether they be in language, clothing, architecture, or Apollo space missions (it seems like there hasn’t been once of those in a while, come to think of it).  So maybe the phrase, “Shut the front door!” (similar in meaning, I take it, to the exclamation, “Get outta here!” or other cruder declaratives) is already passe.  After all, I’ve known of its existence in popular culture now for a few weeks, so it must be several months, if not years, old by now.  If so, well, this is my life, and I don’t see it changing anytime soon.  In fact, I like the saying even more now than I did a half hour ago.  See how fast that happened?

Oh, yeah, and another thing.  Once I came up with “Shut the Front Door Thursday,” I had to decide whether to hyphenate the first four words, which seems proper.  But I couldn’t bring myself to do it.  Too messy or something.  Let me know what you think.  The jury’s still out.

So, thanks for finally getting around to it, Joe, what is this week’s Shut the Front Door topic?

Did you guys know that bees can swim?  Shut the front door!  Yeah, I know!  How weird is that?  I just read this somewhere and it struck me as being so oddball that it stuck in my mind.  And so, of course, coming up with this new blog series, what’s the first weird subject that pops into my head?  Like, yeah.

Now, just give me a few minutes to do some more research on this . . .

(tick, tock . . . tick, tock)

Umm, okay.

Bees swarm.

I guess what I read on some article heading was about bees swarming.  Not swimming.

Sorry, folks.

Dang.

Never mind.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Anonymous on January 5, 2012 - 7:24 PM

    Does this mean that “Shut the front door, Thursday” is over now?

    Like

    • #2 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on January 6, 2012 - 9:13 AM

      I don’t want to talk about it right now.

      Just kidding. I expect and hope there will be many more Shut the Front Door Thursdays. Thanks for asking. Sorry if you were hoping for a different answer.

      Like

  2. #3 by twistingthreads on January 10, 2012 - 2:05 AM

    Funny, and I like it! I’ll look forward to more “Shut the Front Door Thursdays.”

    Like

    • #4 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on January 10, 2012 - 11:50 AM

      Thank you kindly. I’m glad I was able to entertain. I still wish bees could swim, though. The mental picture is just too awesome. Then again, I’ve never jumped into a lake or swimming pool to escape from a swarm. That situation would be problematic.

      Like

Your feedback is welcome . . .

