Chapter 1 is here

As I’ve noted a couple of times around these parts, I’m rewriting an old fantasy novel of mine.  When I can overcome inertia, depression, and self-doubt, I actually enjoy the work of recreating this story that’s had residence in my head for so long.  It can be the kiss of death for a writer to spend ages working on one story, yet here I am.  Brave or stupid, or maybe both.

Publishing has changed a great deal since I first wrote the book and tried to sell it, and so have I.  I’m over the worry and pressure of trying to get anything traditionally published in the old-fashioned way — what used to be the only way.  I’m not going to hurt my chances of anything by posting part, or all, of the novel here.

So, for the interested or curious, you can check out Chapter 1 here or hover on the Fiction tab above and then on Work in Progress, or browse the links on the right.  My intent is to continue putting up new chapters as I get them into satisfactory (for me, at least) form.  And see how far I get.

I will note that I am always delighted to receive comments or critiques on my fiction, good, bad, or indifferent.  I’m an old hand at being a beginning writer and I don’t get offended at honest feedback even if it tears the work apart.  I know how to take it in stride and  I’ve heard it all before from the best.  I’m all for anything that helps me become a better writer.  On the other hand, I don’t need or expect anything from posting it here, either.  It’s an ongoing experiment.

  1. #1 by Martha Turnbull on January 23, 2017 - 8:35 AM

    Kept my interest throughout awaiting the next chapter with great anticipation. Very good start. Wouldn’t expect anything less knowing your talent. So thankful your back on track have missed you writing.
    Would love to reread some of your earier works again, email them to me if you won’t mind.
    The other M.

    Like

    • #2 by Joseph M Kurtenbach on January 23, 2017 - 10:59 PM

      Thanks for the kind words, Martha (psssst, I’ll send you our agreed-upon fee promptly). I’ll have to look back. Aside from “Potion,” which of course you can find here under the Short Fiction heading, I don’t think I have anything left in a modern digital format. I have paper copies of a few old stories that might be worthwhile scanning and restoring into digital. I think I burned some of the worst stuff that I wrote on manual typewriter in the ’80s, but I’m remembering a few short stories like “Starlight Rain” and “The Wind and the Hunter” from the ’90s that I may bring back into the light of day, someday, just for you.

      Like

      • #3 by M. on January 24, 2017 - 12:16 AM

        Would love that if it’s not to much trouble.

        Like

Your feedback is welcome . . .

